Sixth Chakra Third Eye Chakra Ajna Chakra

Sixth Chakra Third Eye Chakra Ajna ChakraThe Sixth Chakra, often referred to as the Third Eye Chakra or the Ajna chakra, is positioned at the eyebrow region and it has two petals, said to represent the psychic channels Ida and Pingala, which meet here with the central Shushumna channel, before rising to the crown chakra, Sahasrara. On the left hand petal is the letter ‘ham’, and on the right the letter ‘ksham’, the bija mantras for Shiva and Shakti respectively.

It is associated with the following:

  • Deities: Shakti Hakini, Krishna, Paramasiva, Isis, Themis, Apollo, Iris, Morpheus, Tara, Hecate, Belenos
  • Element: Light
  • Color: Indigo
  • Animal: Owl
  • Body Parts: Pituitary, Hypothalamus, Eyes, Autonomic Nervous System.
  • Planet: Neptune

Third Eye Chakra PositionAbout

Ajna is considered the chakra of the mind. When something is seen in the mind’s eye, or in a dream, it is being ‘seen’ by Ajna.

Residing in the chakra is the deity Ardhanarishvara a hermaphrodite form of Shiva-Shakti, symbolising the primordial duality of subject and object, and the deity Hakini Shakti is also present in this chakra.

In kundalini yoga, different practices are said to stimulate the Ajna chakra, including Trataka (steady gazing), Shambhavi Mudra (gazing at the space between the eyebrows), and some forms of Pranayama (breath exercises).

Ajna is said to contain Mantrika shakti.

Problem Symptoms

When energy is not flowing freely from this chakra there will be poor focus and intuition. The way you perceive the world, your sense of purpose, morals, and how you think about what you see may be a little out of the normal. Life threatening diseases such as genetic problems, ALS and MS are related to this emotional center. This center also has to do with all the senses including the sixth sense. There may be challenges with being overly rational, and moral with very linear/rigid thinking and decreased receptivity to new ideas. Blockage of this chakra often manifests as a frontal headache, inability to think clearly, scattered or confused thinking.


This chakra is fed by visualization exercises, prayer, meditation and listening to yourself, practicing awareness or self and others environment, healing addictions and service. Remember, all emotion has to do with unmet need of some sort.

In order for this energy to smoothly function you must have an awareness of yourself as a spiritual being, and the other 5 chakras must be in balance, otherwise the incoming “visions” creates a chaotic disturbance of images. During the Sixties there was nothing worse than a “hippy” who had “seen God” and rambled about snippets of Truth.

Live a life-style that has supportive, sustaining, and healthy routines. Attend to your dreams (keep a journal of your dreams), meditate or pray at regular times of the day, and listen to your unconsciousness. How many times do you berate yourself by saying, “If only I had listened to myself”? If nothing else, keep a journal of all your ideas, mental images, hunches, “ah-ha” moments, and intuitions. This small practice will help you to verify your own spiritual gifts and abilities. Being intuitive is nothing more than paying attention to the subtle flows of energy – it is not the dramatic stuff that you see in Hollywood’s special effects! Allow yourself quiet moments so you can hear Spirit’s whispers – everything you need to know is right there inside your mind, but it will not scream at you!

Crystals and Gems

Crystals and/or gem elixirs which may help balance out the sixth chakra: Alexandrite, Amethyst, Angelite, Apache Tears, Apophyllite, Aragonite, Azurite, Charoite, Diamonds (all chakras), Danburite (all chakras), Emerald, Fluorite (Double Pyramid, Clear and Purple), Hawk’s Eye (Blue-Falcon’e Eye), Iolite, Kunzite, Kyanite, Labradorite, Lapis Lazuli, Lepidolite, Meteorite, Moldavite, Moonstone, Opal, Phenacite, Quartz-Clear (all chakras), Quartz (Rutilated and Smoky), Sapphire, Selenite, Silver, Smithsonite, Sodalite, Staurolite (Fairy Cross), Sugilite (Royal Azel), Tanzanite, Topaz, Turquoise, Tourmaline (Blue-Indicolite), Ulexite (TV Stone), Variscite, Zircon (all chakras).


Commonly referred to as “The Third Eye”, this chakra is ruled by Neptune. People who are highly imaginative, coming up with original and insightful ideas have an open Sixth Chakra. Artists, musicians and inventors will frequently mention that the idea “just came to me”. That’s because they are allowing this chakra to “feel” incoming messages, “intuitions and dreams”. Usually, the whole concept appears suddenly, and then they become driven in an effort to “share and express their message” to others.

People with blocked Sixth Chakra’s lack imagination, sadly. Even when provided with a visual image of an abstract concept (did you have problems with algebra or physics?) they may not be able to grasp the logic behind the idea. Holistic concepts are difficult for these people to understand. People on drugs who experience “visions” are getting these strange realizations from this higher dimension. Because they lack conscious control it just flows out as disturbing patterns and concepts.

2 comments on “Sixth Chakra Third Eye Chakra Ajna Chakra

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s